President's and Provost's Advisory Committee


The President’s and Provost’s Advisory Committee (PPAC) consists of faculty at The Ohio State University who hold the position of Ohio Eminent Scholar or University Distinguished Professor. The committee has a threefold mission:

  1. To promote excellence in research and other scholarly activities at The Ohio State University
  2. To support efforts by the Ohio State administration, faculty and staff to improve the quality and reputation of the university
  3. To promote experimentation with changes that could enhance the functioning of the university in its missions of teaching, research and service


The PPAC carries out this mission through participating in activities that contribute its collective expertise to university-wide issues. Activities that support this mission include:

  • Review of draft documents that may have important impact on research and other scholarly activities
  • Meetings with high-level administrators
  • Monitoring of major change efforts at the university
  • Service by PPAC members on key task forces and committees
  • Preparation of white papers on issues of importance to the university

Current Members

Julia Andrews 

Charles M. Atkinson 

Michael G. Bevis 

Bharat Bhushan 

Clara Derber Bloomfield 

John Byrd 

Gregory A. Caldeira 

Albert de aa Chapelle 

Ruth Colker 

James Cowan 

Carlo M. Croce 

Jennifer Crocker 

Peter Culicover 

David L. Denlinger 

Richard Dick 

Joshua Dressler 

Prabir Dutta

Liang-Shih Fan 

Hamish Fraser 

Avner Friedman 

Fritz Graf 

Harvey J. Graff 

Ann Hamilton 

P. Christopher Hammel 

Ulrich Heinz 

Tina Henkin 

Joseph P. Heremans 

Robert Holub 

Brian D. Joseph 

Janice K. Kiecolt-Glaser 

Christopher S. Kochanek 

Bern Kohler 

Rattan Lal 

Clark Larsen

Noel Mayo 

Karin Musier-Forsyth 

Randy J. Nelson 

Stephen Osmani 

Geoffrey Parker 

Richard E. Petty 

James P. Phelan 

Yasuko Rikihisa 

Linda Saif 

Frank Schwartz 

F. Robert Tabita 

Julian Thayer 

Ellen Mosley Thompson 

Lonnie G. Thompson 

David Weinberg 

John W. Wilkins 

Vicki Wysocki

Emeritus Members

Gregory R. Baker

Marilyn B. Brewer

Kevin R. Cox

Frank C. De Lucia

David O. Edwards

Arthur J. Epstein

Harvey Friedman

Susan L. Huntington

John King

George F. Martin, Jr.

Terry A. Miller

Leo A. Paquette

Michael Paulaitis

Robert Rapp

George R. St. Pierre

Richard Steckel 

J. Robert Warmbrod

Photo of the seal on the Oval

Leadership and Committees

The Ohio State University is a large and diverse institution that benefits from the insight and engagement of a variety of stakeholders.