Task Force on Sexual Abuse

The university’s Task Force on Sexual Abuse has been convened to review recent sexual abuse cases and identify educational tools and best practices for fostering a culture of awareness and compliance in higher education. President Michael V. Drake announced the formation of the task force following the university’s release of the independent investigative report. The task force will use the information detailed in the Strauss report and other sources to inform a safer future.

Specifically, the task force is charged with:

  • Compiling a background summary of known instances of sexual abuse that have occurred at institutions of higher education, with particular emphasis on those that have become known within the last 10 years
  • Distilling and categorizing common elements or themes that emerge from the historical summary, focusing specifically on identifying and understanding the particular challenges and cultural barriers that may exist in college departments of athletics or in the clinical medical enterprise that could affect sexual abuse reporting
  • Identifying educational tools and practices for enhancing a culture of awareness and compliance
  • Identifying best practices focused on assisting reporting and developing pathways to action on college campuses
  • Identifying best practices regarding sustainable mechanisms for support and recovery

The task force will partner with survivors of sexual abuse to further inform and advance its work — engaging with survivor-focused organizations such as the Rape, Abuse & Incest National Network (RAINN) or others.

The task force is chaired by Alan Michaels, JD, professor and dean emeritus of Ohio State’s Moritz College of Law. Additional members include:

  • Brieanne Beaujolais, doctoral student in social work with research interests in gender-based violence, campus sexual assault, intimate partner violence and sex trafficking, Ohio State
  • Regis Becker, board member, U.S. Center for SafeSport
  • Esther Choo, MD, MPH, associate professor of emergency medicine whose research interests include violence, women’s health and gender medicine, Oregon Health & Science University
  • Christine Gidycz, PhD, professor emerita of psychology focusing on sexual assault prevention and risk reduction programs, Ohio University
  • Katherine Lasher, JD, associate vice president for institutional equity, Ohio State
  • Janine Oman, deputy director of athletics overseeing sport administration, sport performance, compliance and human resources, Ohio State
  • Vincent Roscigno, PhD, professor of sociology focusing on inequality, culture and dynamics of workplace bullying and abuse, Ohio State
  • Kimberly Spears-McNatt, chief of police, The Ohio State University Police Division
  • Deborah Tuerkheimer, JD, professor focusing on feminist legal theory and criminal law, Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law